Green servers for a greener tomorrow


As a leading e-mail provider with the GMX and WEB.DE brands, we are aware of our responsibility to the environment and society. We therefore operate our servers and data centres with 100 percent green electricity from renewable energies generated in Germany.

Although the amount of data in our data centres has almost tripled in recent years, we have been able to reduce the number of servers. This is made possible by our own cloud solution, based on Kubernetes, which enables us to utilise computing capacities dynamically and in a resource-efficient manner.

100 per cent renewable energy, ISO 50001 certified. Our basis for the future.

Highlights

2,5 Mrd.

Logins

100 %

Green electricity since 2018

74 tonnes

Hardware remanufactured or recycled

ISO 50001

Certified energy management in our data centres

Do more, use less

We also want to act sustainably in our offices. What do we do to achieve this?

We use energy-saving devices that switch off automatically when not in use. LED energy-saving lamps ensure a sustainably bright office. The use of refurbished company smartphones also conserves important natural resources.

We are also committed to a positive environmental balance for our beverages. Anyone who wants to can get their coffee from us with oat milk. We are also gradually replacing our drinks deliveries with water dispensers as part of our New Work project.


Reduce, reuse, recycle


In 2022, we and other United Internet AG companies were able to keep 74 tonnes of hardware in circulation through our partner AfB Social and Green IT by recycling it, saving more than 584 tonnes of CO₂. If refurbishment is not possible, the materials are recycled responsibly.

Responsible resource management is important to us! We therefore avoid unnecessary components when building our products and IT solutions and compare potential energy savings with the resources required to manufacture them before replacing them. This enables us to achieve a longer service life and thus save important resources.


Diverse, united and transparent

Diversity:

It is important to us to find a field of activity for all employees in which they can develop their potential and talent in the best possible way. We see diversity and equal opportunities as an integral part of our culture, as they are the basis for creativity and productivity. As part of United Internet AG and a signatory to the Diversity Charter, we are committed to diversity and inclusion in the workplace.

United with UNICEF:

United Internet has been successfully supporting selected UNICEF projects since 2006. Together with the readers of the WEB.DE, GMX and 1&1 portals, the "United Internet for UNICEF" foundation has already raised over 65 million euros.

Sustainability Award Media Bavaria:

The editorial offerings of our WEB.DE and GMX portals won the first sustainability award in the Bavarian media sector for their transparency.

Job search

Green servers for a greener tomorrow


Als führender E-Mail-Anbieter mit den Marken GMX und WEB.DE sind wir uns unserer Verantwortung für Umwelt und Gesellschaft bewusst. Unsere Server und Rechenzentren betreiben wir daher mit 100 Prozent Ökostrom aus erneuerbaren Energien, generiert in Deutschland.

Obwohl sich die Datenmenge in unseren Rechenzentren in den letzten Jahren fast verdreifacht hat, konnten wir die Anzahl der Server reduzieren. Möglich ist das durch unsere eigene Cloud-Lösung, basierend auf Kubernetes, die es uns ermöglicht, Rechenkapazitäten dynamisch und ressourcenschonend einzusetzen.

100 Prozent erneuerbare Energien, ISO 50001 zertifiziert. Unsere Basis für die Zukunft. 

Highlights

2,5 Mrd.

Logins

100 %

Ökostrom seit 2018

74 Tonnen

Hardware wiederaufbereitet oder recycelt

ISO 50001

Zertifiziertes Energiemanagement in unseren Rechenzentren

Mehr tun, weniger verbrauchen

In unseren Büroräumen möchten wir ebenfalls nachhaltig agieren. Was tun wir dafür?

Wir verwenden energiesparende Geräte, die sich bei Nichtbenutzung automatisch abschalten. LED Energiesparlampen sorgen für ein nachhaltig helles Büro. Die Nutzung aufbereiteter Firmen-Smartphones schont außerdem wichtige natürliche Ressourcen.

Zudem setzen wir uns auch bei unseren Getränken für eine positive Umweltbilanz ein. Wer möchte, bekommt seinen Kaffee bei uns mit Hafermilch. Zudem ersetzen wir im Rahmen unseres New Work Projekts schrittweise unsere Getränkelieferungen durch Wasserspender.


Reduce, reuse, recycle


2022 konnten wir und weitere Unternehmen der United Internet AG über unseren Partner AfB Social and Green IT 74 Tonnen Hardware durch Wiederaufbereitung im Kreislauf halten und damit mehr als 584 Tonnen CO₂ einsparen. Wenn eine Aufbereitung nicht möglich ist, werden die Materialien verantwortungsvoll recycelt.

Verantwortungsvolles Ressourcenmanagement liegt uns am Herzen! Wir verzichten daher beim Bau unserer Produkte und IT-Lösungen auf überflüssige Komponenten und vergleichen vor einem Austausch u.a. mögliche Energieeinsparungen mit dem Ressourcenaufwand der Herstellung. Dadurch ermöglichen wir eine längere Lebensdauer und sparen so wichtige Ressourcen.


Diverse, united and transparent

Diversity

Uns ist es wichtig, für alle Mitarbeitenden ein Tätigkeitsfeld zu finden, in dem sie ihr Potenzial und Talent bestmöglich entfalten können. Wir sehen Diversität und Chancengleichheit als festen Bestandteil unserer Kultur, denn sie sind Grundlage für Kreativität und Produktivität. Wir bekennen uns als Teil der United Internet AG und Unterzeichner der Charta der Vielfalt zu Diversität und Inklusion am Arbeitsplatz.

United with UNICEF

United Internet unterstützt seit 2006 erfolgreich ausgewählte Projekte von UNICEF. Die Stiftung "United Internet for UNICEF" konnte gemeinsam mit den Leser*innen der Portale WEB.DE, GMX und 1&1 bereits über 65 Millionen Euro sammeln.

Nachhaltigkeitspreis Medien Bayern

Unsere redaktionellen Angebote WEB.DE News und GMX News wurden für ihre Transparenz mit dem ersten Nachhaltigkeitspreis Medien Bayern ausgezeichnet.

Jobsuche